#booksmiles 2: Miss Moore Thought Otherwise

20140711-125953.jpg

Today’s #booksmile is Miss Moore Thought Otherwise by Jan Pinborough. Debby Atwell created the illustrations. This picture book biography recounts the life of Annie Carroll Moore, who was influential in the development of children’s librarians. She became a librarian at a time when many libraries did not allow children to check out books (or even enter libraries sometimes). One thing that made me smile in this book is that she was urging librarians to pull down their silence signs and read stories to children.

I was amazed at what Annie Carroll Moore accomplished with the Children’s Room when the New York Public Library opened in 1911. Children gathered for reading clubs, to see authors such as Dr. Seuss and even meet the king and queen of Belgium on a visit. What I liked most was how the Children’s Room remained a bright place for children even when hardships endured outside the libraries walls, such as wars and depressions.

missmoore

 

I borrowed this book from my local public library. It is one of my lifelong favorite places. Some of my earliest memories are visiting the public library while it was tucked inside a corner of city hall. I would pick out books from square bookcases covered in bright letters of the alphabet. My teddy bear spent an accidental night in the library during a blizzard after a visit (quite traumatic at the time). Whenever I walked in, I could count on finding books that I would love and discovering ones I would not have otherwise tried. I shared a bit more about that public library in my #whylib post.

 

Share what books make you smile using #booksmiles on Twitter.

Categories: #booksmiles

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “#booksmiles 2: Miss Moore Thought Otherwise

  1. Pingback: Additions for 7/19/14 | Kid Lit Navigator

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Page in Training

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

