It’s Monday! What Are You Reading from Picture Books to YA.

20140707-195630.jpg

 

Recent Reads

Nonfiction

How They Choked: Failures, Flops and Flaws of the Awfully Famous by Georgia Bragg – Another great collective biography by the author of How They Croaked that presents the darker side of historical figures.

Middle Grade

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff – I am so glad I picked up this book reading friends recommended. Albie’s story is to learning difficulties what Auggie’s story was to physical challenges.

Of Sorcery and Snow – This is book three in Shelby Bach’s Ever Afters series. I love how the characters continue to develop. If you want a witty, fun fantasy read with genuine characters, start off with her Of Giants and Ice. She is also an excellent author to Skype with.

Sky Raiders by Brandon Mull – A visit to a Halloween haunted house goes horribly awry. Cole follows his friends as they are kidnapped to a place where magic is dangerously real. Students love the book trailer for this title. First in a five book series.

The Blood Guard by Carter Roy – Adventure story where Ronan Truelove’s worldview shatters when his mom whisks him away from school while strange agents are in hot pursuit. He learns his mom is not a curator like he thought but a member of the long established Blood Guard.

Young Adult

Strange Maid by Tessa Gratton – Book 2 in Gratton’s United States of Asgard books. Steeped in Norse mythology, this is the story of Signy Valborn, would be Valkyrie who needs to solve the riddle the Alfather left her.

Graphic Novel

Comics Squad: Recess! edited by Jennifer L. Holm, Matt Holm and Jarrett J. Krosoczka – I received this title at #edcampmi. I love this collaborative effort. Magic acorns, lunch assistants taking charge, cats trying to take over the world and more. Oh, and did I mention the ninjas?

What I Want to Read Next

A Soldier’s Secret: The Incredible True Story of Sarah Edmonds, a Civil War Hero by Marissa Moss – I picked up this historical fiction book on my history vacation last year

.A Soldier's Secret: The Incredible True Story of Sarah Edmonds, Civil War Hero

Teach Like a Pirate by Dave Burgess – Excellent professional development title that I need to finish as I consider what I want my first library days to look like next school year.

16226386

Categories: It's Monday What Are You Reading, Uncategorized

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading from Picture Books to YA.

  1. Comic Squad sounds so fun. What a great bunch of books. I’ve heard a lot about Absolutely Almost. I’ll definitely be reading it.

    • If you’d like to borrow my Comic Squad tomorrow, let me know! Absolutely Almost lived up to what I’d read in recommendations. I still need to track down Circa Now, which is another I’ve seen high recommendations for.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

