It’s Monday! What are You Reading From Picture Books to YA?

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Recent Reading Adventures

Middle Grade Fiction

Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer – I read the bulk of this final entry in the Artemis Fowl shortly after it came out. I didn’t really want Artemis to end so I waited until this week to read the book in its entirety. There is some wonderful symmetry between the ending of book 8 and the start of the series. When I first started the series back in college, I almost didn’t read beyond book 1. I loved the world building. I couldn’t stand the titular character. That had definitely changed by the time book 3 came about.

Little Golden Books

At the start of the year, I’d set out to do a number of reading challenges. It was not a good year on challenges for me. However, winter break has been a good time to get back on a personal challenge, which was to read all the Little Golden Books from my dad’s childhood and mine that we still own. Here’s a glimpse of what I read this week:

littlegolden3

littlegolden2

littlegolden1

Graphic Novels

Reading with Pictures – I started this anthology. So far I have really enjoyed the short pieces by Raina Telgemeier, Eric Wight, Gene Ambaum & Bill Barnes, and Chris Giarrusso. It might be interesting to pair this title with Nursery-Rhyme Comics as a discussion point.

Upcoming Reading Adventures:

I want to finish up Reading with Pictures today as well as Iron-Hearted Violet. I’m going to have a hard time picking what should be the first read of 2013 as there are lots of good possibilities waiting for me.

Categories: It's Monday What Are You Reading

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading From Picture Books to YA?

  1. I started the Artemis Fowl series this year and was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. (I didn’t really have a reason to think badly of it, other than that I tend not to like large series and their episodic nature.) I had to stop after book three due to other reading obligations, but I can’t wait to get back to it.

  2. I loved the first Artemis Fowl book! My students a few years back insisted I read it (they were debating if he or Charles Wallace was smarter, and I couldn’t participate in the discussion because I hadn’t read the book.) I think reading the rest of the series might be on the books for this year!

  3. What a fun reading week you had. Great way to end the year! Happy New Year!!

  4. Oh way too many gorgeous books you have here. I fell in love with Artemis Fowl too a few years back. I don’t think I’ve read the last two novels, better catch up with those two soon. 🙂

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

