It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Recent Reading Adventures

An unplanned rodent theme has woven its way into my recent middle grade reads. Two of these three book choices came about because of children’s literature festivals I had the opportunity to attend in the last month. It is such a blessing to see authors explain their work. The Sheboygan Children’s Literature Fest and Wisconsin Book Festival are both fantastic, free community events I can highly recommend. I ran into fellow Nerdy Book Club member Crystal (@librarygrl2) while at the Wisconsin Book Festival this weekend. You can visit Reading Through Life, her blog, to find out more about the book festival.

Middle Grade Fiction

Malcolm at Midnight by W.H. Beck, illustrated by Brian Lies – This is a lovely animal fiction mystery set inside a school. Malcolm, a small rat, is mistaken for a mouse when a teacher visits the local pet store. When Malcolm is exploring his new school home, he stumbles across a group of other classroom pets calling themselves the Midnight Academy. Their mission: to protect the school. Not all of the other pets are willing to trust a rat. This book should appeal to readers who enjoy James Howe’s Bunnicula books or Beverly Cleary’s Mouse and the Motor Cycle. My copy has been passed on to a classroom teacher to use for a read-aloud.

Secrets at Sea by Richard Peck – A family of mice must face their fear of water to accompany their human family across the sea. The eldest sister has her hands full trying to keep her siblings safe and to try and hold back social disaster. This book is a blend of animal fantasy and historical fiction.

The Brixen Witch by Stacy DeKeyser – I enjoyed this retelling of the Pied Piper. When young Rudi brings home a piece of the Brixen Witch’s gold he sets off a string of unexpected misfortunes upon his village. Please visit my review of The Brixen Witch on Smore.

Young Adult Nonfiction

Taxes, the Tea Party, and Those Revolting Rebels: A History in Comics of the American Revolution by Stan Mack – I spotted this book at a sale held by the Cooperative Children’s Book Center and could not resist. History + graphic novel is a formula I enjoy investigating. I wish this book had existed back when I was in U.S. history. The book covers major events of the revolution. While the major figures of the actions leading up to the Revolution and the war itself are included, there is a focus on everyday people as well. Events after the war, such as Shay’s rebellion and the adoption of the Constitution are also included. This would be a great step up (or ladder) from Nathan Hale’s One Dead Spy.

Upcoming Reading Adventures:

My school is kicking off Battle of the Books this week so I plan to read some of our battle titles in the near future. I’m also eager to read some of the many titles I purchased for the school library at the CCBC sale.

Categories: It's Monday What Are You Reading | Tags:

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

  1. That graphic novel on the American Revolution sounds like a great find! And I’ve got my eye on The Secrets at Sea for my third grader for Christmas.

  2. Nice books and I like to idea of a graphic book about the American Revolution, too. I am just beginning to really appreciate graphic books. I tried reading The Brixen Witch, but just couldn’t get through it.

  3. Not every fantasy book is for everyone. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. That graphic novel sounds fun. It was great seeing you this weekend. I wish you a wonderful week of reading. 🙂

  5. Hi there! Whenever I see books about rodents, I am reminded of Mrs Frisby and the Rats of NIMH – you may want to check that out too. Good reads here! Enjoy the rest of your reading week!

  6. I love graphic novels, and I may have to grab that one. They are a great way to introduce and reinforce concepts that might be too hard in prose format. Secrets at Sea is at my book fair this week – I may put it on my wish list.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

