It’s Monday! What Are You Reading from Picture Books to YA?

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures:Catch Up Edition

Nonfiction

Molly the Pony by Pam Kaster – I picked up this book at the book fair school held recently. It’s the account of a pony who was rescued from Hurricane Katrina only to later have an amputation because of an infected bite. I was amazed by the prosthetic she was fitted with and how well she adapted to it.

Who Fixed Babies’ Heart by Sara Latta – This biography is more accessible than my school library’s other book on Vivien Thomas. I liked the organization of this series from Enslow.

Weird But True Weather by Carmen Bredeson – Some facts from this book will be fun to include in the unit I’m writing this summer.

Picture Book:

Bawk & Roll by Tammi Sauer – This hilarious story of an Elvis rooster and the stage fright faced by his chicken dancers is made all the more fun with Dan Santat’s illustrations.

Sophie’s Fish by A.E. Cannon – A boy agrees to babysit his friend’s fish and then imagines all sorts of horrible things that could go wrong. Can he get out of his duty?

Up, Tall and High by Ethan Long – A very simple reader with three short stories. The kindergarten students I shared it with enjoyed the flaps that pull out.

Robot Zombie Frankenstein – Two robots try to outdo one another with their evolving costumes, providing a fun look at competition and friendship.

Fiction:

Storm Runners by Roland Smith – It was fun to finally read the first book in this series all the way through. Chase Smith and his father move with major storms to find work ever since his father was struck by lightning. Chase and some other kids are on a long bus ride home when Hurricane Emily hits. This is an intense survival story. While reading one attempted rescue scene that takes place in a bus, I couldn’t help but think of the part of Hatchet where Brian has to go into the sunken plane.

Rebel McKenzie by Candice Ransom – I read a galley of this book from Netgalley. Rebel desperately wants to go to a paleontology oriented summer camp. She tries running away to camp when her mom tells her there isn’t money for it. Forced home again with her feet a mess, Rebel finds herself stuck living with a sister she barely knows for the summer so Rebel can babysit her eccentric nephew Rudy while Rebel’s sister attends classes. Rebel is feisty and impetuous. That she and her new sort of friend Lacey end up in a beauty pageant to beat their mobile home park’s snootiness girl is rather comical.

Winterling by Sarah Prineas – This was a thoroughly enjoyably middle grade fantasy read. Fer is drawn into another world, one where her father and mother died under mysterious circumstances. There’s something wrong with that world and Fer is determined to figure out what or who the problem is. I love the character of Rook, a puck who is thrice-sworn to serve a Lady and thus cannot answer Fer’s many, many questions.

Reviews

Seraphina – YA Fantasy

The Classroom – MG Humor

This Week’s Reading Adventures:Catch Up Edition

This week I’m hoping to review A Hero’s Guide to Saving the Kingdom and maybe one other title. Readingwise, I hope to read Capture the Flag. I also have new galleys from Netgalley to pick through – lots of interesting choices!

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading from Picture Books to YA?

  1. Glad to hear you really liked Seraphina! I was so excited when I got that ARC, it looks fantastic! I actually have not read any of the books you talk about in your post. It’s great to get some new recommendations!

    • I’m looking forward to diving into new recommendations this summer. So many good ideas on what to read from people.

  2. I have read none of what you read- I have my work cut out 🙂
    I really want to read Stormrunners, so I am glad it is enjoyable.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  3. I read Sophie’s Fish recently. I would have chalked the whole thing up as “ho-hum”, but that last page made me laugh out loud 🙂 And kids love that sort of thing!

Blog at WordPress.com.

