It’s Monday! What Are You Reading From Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures:Catch Up Edition

Thank goodness for a weekend stack of picture books or this would be a very short entry. Last week was filled with meetings planning library instruction services for next year and another tech training session (A third grade teacher, the principal and I have taught Google Apps for Education five times this school year now at various buildings). I’m excited for next school year but also nervous for new endeavors. That’s a story for a different post though.

Picture Books:

Chloe and the Lion by Mac Barnett – This is a hilarious, fourth wall breaking book about an author who gets frustrated with his illustrator’s artistic license and feeds the illustrator to the lion. The subsequent illustrator doesn’t do any better… I shared my arc of this book with third grade this week. It made me think of the book Pierre.

I Love My Daddy by Giles Andreae – A young picture book celebrating fathers.

Stay Close to Mama by Toni Buzzeo – A baby giraffe wanders off to explore while remaining oblivious to the surrounding dangers. I really like the illustrations in this one (as do the group of kindergarten students I passed my arc to this week).

Yoko Learns to Read by Rosemary Wells – Yoko struggles to read more in English so she can put more book leaves on the reading tree in her room like the other girls. Then her mother asks to learn to read in English as well.

Except If by Jim Averbeck – I had fun with this title as it plays against what common reading predictions say would happen. I liked the progression from snake to lizard to dinosaur to fossil.

I’m Not by Pam Smallcomb – This is the story of two very different friends who find things that bond them together.

Brownie and Pearl Hit the Hay by Cynthia Rylant – This series would be fun with preschool students.

Ribbit Rabbit by Candace Ryan – This title made me smile. Frog and bunny have to work out some friendship problems. I like how they both thought of the same solution.

Those Darn Squirrels and the Cat Next Door by Adam Rubin. I think I’d like the offbeat humor of this one better on other days. When a cruel cat moves in next door, the squirrels will have to get clever if they want anyone to ever get peace again.

Ten Rules You Absolutely Must Not Break if You Want to Survive the School Bus by John Grandits. This would be a funny back to school read for older children.

Blue Sky by Audrey Wood – This is a fun nearly wordless book to celebrate all the different colors and moods the sky can wear.

Nonfiction

Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile by Gloria Houston. I enjoyed this nonfiction biographical work of Miss Dorothy and the impact she had on her community.

Fiction:

Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – I’m enjoying my more ordered reading of this book. I’m at the halfway point now and refusing to rush this one. One thing I’ve noted is how much more I enjoy the character of Giddon in this book than Graceling. I can’t wait to discuss this book more as people get the chance to read it.

I posted my review of Eye of the Storm.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

:

My reading goal for the week is to continue savoring Bitterblue. The final Kane Chronicles book comes out this week as does A Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom. I suspect I’ll be reading more fantasy soon in between work on my third grade mini-unit on regions and assessing the wiki pages my students made. Hopefully I can find some time to work on review writing as well.

Ordinary Magic comes out this week as well!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading From Picture Books to YA

  1. You’ve read quite a bit this week! From reading your Picture Book list, I can only think you’ve spent the entire week laughing! 🙂 I found Chloe and the Lion to be an absolute treat! I am glad to see you found it and read it too. It’s so unique! I still have to get into the Graceling series, but I know they are loved and am sure I will enjoy once they make it into my hands.

    • There were some good laughs in those picture books and they came at the right time. I think Chloe would be great to use before a writing project -show kids how much a book can change!

  2. I have Blue Sky in my library bag right now and haven’t gotten to it yet. I figured I couldn’t go wrong with Audrey Wood, and Preschooler and I are just starting to explore wordless picture books. Glad to see it on your list!

  3. Chloe and the Lion sounds like a great one to share. Always fun to see kids’ reactions to silly books!

  4. There are so many great books coming out tomorrow! Bitterblue, Insurgent, Hero’s Guide, and Kane Chronicles #3. It is a busy reading week! I’m going to have to catch up on my HAVE TO reading so I can do my can’t wait for reading.

    Also, impressive list of picture books 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

    • Isn’t the start of May amazing in terms of book releases? It’s amazing. Wish I could read them all cover to cover right now.

Blog at WordPress.com.

