It’s Monday. What are You Reading From Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Previous Reading Adventures:Catch Up Edition

Picture Books:

Chopsticks by Amy Krouse Rosenthal – Who knew that cutlery could give a great story of how to be independent and still be a great friend.

C.R. Mudgeon by Leslie Muir – C.R. Mudgeon likes his routines. He knows what to expect out of every day. At least, that’s how things go until a new flamboyant squirrel neighbor moves in. I love how Julian Hector illustrated this book about a cantankerous hedgehog.

Graphic Novels:

Fish You Were Here by Colleen Venable – This is the fourth installment in the Guinea Pig, Pet Shop Private Eye series. The pet shop owner finally hires an assistant. Most of the animals think the new girl is fantastic, but Sasspants isn’t convinced. I love the quirty animals in this series.

Okie Dokie Donuts by Chris Eliopoulos – I will admit that this book got me with its little singing commercial interlude at the start. Graphic novels, humor and music are a good combination. In this novel, an oily salesman wants the donut shop to use his robot to bake the donuts. The robot, rather predictably, does not operate according to plan… This one is good for a laugh.

Hippo and Rabbit in Three Short Tales by Jeff Mack – Hippo and Rabbit make for a great graphic novel for the early reader set. They remind a lot of the fun had in the Elephant and Piggie books.

Fiction:

Black Heart by Holly Black – This is the third installment in Holly Black’s The Curse Workers books. One thing I love about these books for older teens is the worldbuilding. Black has created a world parallel to our own where there is a prohibition on working magic. Those who can use it are known as curse workers or workers. Cassel Sharpe is from a family of workers. In this third book, he is in way over his head with his remaining family, federal agents, and the powerful Ivan Zacharoff all trying to con him. He’s also been asked to figure out who is blackmailing another girl at the prestigious school where Cassel is toeing the line with expulsion. The only person Cassel can think of to help with problem after problem is the young woman who hates him for what he’s done. Black Heart ends Cassel’s story, but there is so much I still want to know about this world (and I feel I have to listen to it on audio to be properly done with the series because Eisenberg’s narration is superb).

Ordinary Magic by Caitlen Rubino-Bradway – I read this book on NetGalley. I adore it in the ‘need to go out and buy ten copies to give to people’ way. The only problem with that is the book isn’t out for a few more weeks! Abby Hale’s waited a long time for her Judging Day. The twelve-year-old gets a big surprise when she’s found to have no magic at all. She’s an ord, an ordinary. Her parents are told they need to get rid of her, but they are doing no such thing. Abby’s eldest sister secretly works at a school for ords, a school where they learn how to do things without magic and how to protect themselves. Ords aren’t seen as people, but that doesn’t stop them from being wanted. Many adventurers and treasure hunters would give a fortune for a good ord because anti-theft spells and magical booby traps can’t touch ords.

Nonfiction:

Citizen Scientists by Loree Griffin Burns – This is a great book for stimulate observation and classroom participation in science.

Time for a Bath by Steve Jenkins – All the different ways animals take baths made me smile (and wince on occasion). Have you ever heard of an ant bath?

The Camping Trip that Changed America by Barb Rosenstock – I love national parks. This is a retelling of Teddy Roosevelt’s trip with John Muir that helped lead to the creation of national parks.

We March by Shane W. Evans – I enjoyed this picture book take on a Civil Rights march.

Poetry

Forgive Me! I Meant To Do It: False Apology Poems by Gail Carson Levine – What I especially liked about this book were the false apology poems that were based on fairy tales. I think they could make a good pair for Mirror Mirror (the book) with older students.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

:

Two books I’d like to read while it is still spring break is Kate Messner’s Eye of the Storm (because kids want to borrow my copy after hearing seven chapters as a read aloud preview in their room and another class wanting it because they also heard Kate read aloud from part of it. I walked into their room holding they day before break and got bombarded with requests for it) and The Classroom (because a fourth grader wants to know what I think of it. She read my print arc and I have a few days before my e-galley of it vanishes).

Having finished reading and commenting on a friend’s novel draft, I think it’s time to do the same for the summer camp gone wrong draft we wrote together. After each of us makes comments on the draft, we’ll go through them and also incorporate what a few other beta-readers have given us. Two things I’ll be look at are pacing and our antagonist.

My review goal for this week is to write up my review of Ordinary Magic. I’ve been stalling on this since I wanted to make a book trailer. The time has come to forge on though because I want to tell people about this fantastic book.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “It’s Monday. What are You Reading From Picture Books to YA

  1. Thank you for the kind words! πŸ™‚ I owe you donuts.

  2. megan

    I just finished Black Heart. I love this series! I kind of hope that maybe there will be more. In the meantime, I may have to give a listen, I’ll bet Jesse is perfect!

  3. Oh! How did I miss that Black Heart was out? Drat. Must put it on the TBR list now. And reading has been so sporadic lately that I’m not moving very fast through anything.
    That Citizen Scientists looks interesting. Have to add that one, too.
    And Ordinary Magic.
    I’d eventually miss the kids. But for like a year it would be awesome if someone would just pay me to sit and read all day. Then I could maybe catch up. ;]
    BRAVO for writing. I never have any ideas for anything good. But I’m so glad other people do!

    • Glad some of the books looked interesting to you. I need to work time in for writing again somehow. It also feels like I’m cheating on reading and library things when I write.

  4. I listened to White Cat a couple of weeks ago and I loved the audio narration. I’m not sure I’ll continue with the series but I think Jesse did a great job narrating. He is exactly what I would envision of Cassel. You’ve read lots of books lately! And a huge range. Very fun.

    • I hope he narrates other audio books as well. White Cat works pretty well as a stand alone though the other books are also fun.

  5. I am so excited about Black Heart! I have an ARC of it, but I am not going to read it- waiting for the audio.

    Happy reading this week!!

  6. In just a few hours I can download Black Heart. Yay! Jesse Eisenberg is my perfect Cassel. And I too need more hours to read.

  7. Pingback: Charlotte's Library: Meme of 7–my seven most recent book purchases | libraryread.net

  8. I think my daughter and C.R. Mudgeon might get along πŸ˜‰ Need to check this one out!

  9. I went ahead and ordered Ordinary Magic after reading it–I’m looking forward to it lots!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

