It’s Monday! What are You Reading from Picture Books to YA?

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures

Picture Book:

The Mixed Up Alphabet by Steve Metzger – I read this on Scholastic’s new Storia preview. Letters all switch places and try out new things until shy Y speaks up.

Fiction:

This week I had a plan to finish up some arcs I had from fall or spring so I could donate them to my school’s book exchange. I finished four of them.

Fashion Kitty and the B.O.Y.S. (Ball of Yellow String) by Cherise Mericle Harper – A superhero cat with the power of fashion has a chapter book where she must deal with a bully armed with a stickily dangerous yellow invention.

Trouble at the Zoo (Bindi Wildlife Adventures 1) by Bindi Irwin – Someone tries to steal one of the zoo’s monkeys during Bindi’s birthday party. I think if I were in the age range targeted by this book I would have enjoyed it a lot more. It reminded me of being a younger reader.

Storm Runners Book 2: The Surge by Roland Smith – This was the second book of the series but the first one I read. This was a suspenseful read that alternated between the perspectives of Chase Masters and his father. Chase and three others are holed up in a barn during the end of Hurricane Emily. Inside the barn with them is a very pregnant elephant while outside there is a manic jaguar. I need to read the first one now.

The Storm Makers by Jennifer E. Smith – In a summer of dreadful heat, Ruby worries when her thirteen-year-old twin develops a sudden fever. More troubling yet is the storm that breaks out at the same time. Simon and Ruby soon learn Simon is a Storm Maker, the youngest ever. While Ruby prefers the Storm Maker information given to them by stork-like Otis Gray, Simon is drawn toward the powerful and dangerous Rupert London. While this was far from the the first book I’ve read where young teens develop powers, I liked the approach this book takes and had fun learning the back story of the Storm Makers.

Graphic Novels:

Frog and Fly by Jeff Mack – this graphic novel is for emergent reader. There are six short episodes about Frog and Fly. Given what frogs like to eat, you can guess what happens to the fly in most of them. In the last one Frog gets his comeuppance.

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Evil Penguin Plan by Maxwell Eaton III – The first Flying Beaver Brothers book arrived at the library. I was amused that the first interaction with the penguins involved surfboard theft.

Nonfiction:

Here Come the Girl Scouts by Shana Corey – I picked up a galley of this great nonfiction picture book. It is an inviting and informative look at the origin of the Girl Scout organization.

Dinosaurs?! by Lila Prap – I have now read two of Lila Prap’s nonfiction picture books and I love her illustrations and format.

Reviews:

Fake Mustache by Tom Angleberger

This Week’s Reading Adventures

:

I’m still working on Breadcrumbs with an enrichment group at school. I would like to get another 100 pages in this week.

Other than that, my reading goal for this week is to work on reading a friend’s novel draft and giving her feedback. I’m hoping I can put in a couple solid evenings of work on this. This is the second book in a planned science fiction trilogy. I enjoyed reading a draft of the first book last year and am excited to see what the characters get themselves into during book 2.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading from Picture Books to YA?

  1. I really love Here Come The Girl Scouts. The artwork is awesome. I love all the quotes mixed in with the narrative. Great book. I just added a different book by Jennifer E. Smith to my TBR on GoodReads, that’s crazy that her name is coming up her. I’ve never read anything by her. 🙂

    • I agree about the artwork for Here Come the Girl Scouts.

      Jennifer E. Smith was a new to me author as well. Storm Makers is her first middle grade novel.

  2. One of my kiddos is reading Fashion Kitty and loving it! I read The Flying Beaver Brothers and thought it was pretty cute 🙂

    Enjoy your books!

    Amanda

  3. I have the Flying Beaver Brothers on hold at the public library … figured I’d preview before getting for school. I knew they were marketing some Bindi Irwin books … I guess if they promote good citizenship of the planet then more power to them. Can’t wait for Fake Mustache!
    That’s awesome that you are helping a friend with a manuscript … I saw your #nerdybookclub writing post but didn’t answer because blogging is the most writing I’ve ever done. Never been brave enough or had a good idea for anything else. Anyway. Happy reading!

    • Previewing before purchasing makes sense to me. I did a bunch of that last summer. Flying Beaver Brothers are goofy graphic novels. They aren’t super in depth but the kids at my school seem to be enjoying them.

      We could always let blogging be part of the writing challenge as well. I like reading friends’ drafts, but I tend to leave them lots of questions/comments. I like writing, but I have been doing quite poorly on making time for it.

  4. What a fun reading week! I’ve always wanted to read the Storm Runner books- it is good to hear that they are adventurous. I’ve only heard great things about Here Comes the Girl Scouts and I cannot wait for the library to have it in for me.

    Happy reading 🙂

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

