It’s Monday! What Are You Reading From Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures

Picture Books:

With Read Across America on Friday and a great book sale on the weekend, this was a great week for picture book reads! Some new to me reads included:

Gilbert Goldfish Wants a Pet by Kelly DiPucchio – Gilbert wants a pet but the ones that come near his fishbowl don’t seem to work out. I love the illustrations and the twist ending. A must share with primary grades.

Splinters by Kevin Sylvester – This is a hockey based Cinderella. As a hockey fan, I found this a fun read. I also liked that there could be a Cinderella story without the romance.

Piggies in the Pumpkin Patch by Mary Peterson – These piggies go on a fun romp around the farm. I think this would be a fun read-aloud.

12 Bots of Christmas by Nathan Hale – The 12 days of Christmas is redone with robots. I picked this up because I like Hale’s work on Rapunzel’s Revenge. I think my students will enjoy this book. It could possibly be paired with Snowbots.

I Will Not Read This Book by Cece Meng – A boy is determined not to read. He won’t read even if he is dangling off a cliff by one toe in a rainstorm with sharks below him. For some reason this title put me in mind of Green Eggs and Ham (quite possibly because we just finished up about Dr. Seuss).

Dotty by Erica Perl – This is a lovely story about a girl who wants to keep her invisible friend while her classmates outgrow theirs.

Airshow by Treat Williams – This oversize picture book invites exploration of its illustrations as it depicts the many kinds of planes that are at an airshow. The little girl in this book can’t wait to go up in a plane.

Amelia Bedelia’s First Field Trip by Herman Parrish – Amerlia Bedelia is back! She’s in elementary school in this book. Some of her classmates have the same problems with sayings that she does. In this picture book, she’s on a field trip to the farm. Better not get in her way as she tosses the salad.

Dinosaur vs. the Potty by Bob Shea – The Dinosaur vs ____ series is growing on me. I had to show this one to the EC teacher today.

My Many Colored Days by Dr. Seuss – I enjoyed the different colored days in this book and that some colors weren’t what I expected.

Fiction:

Fake Mustache by Tom Angleberger – Lenny’s friend Casper is out to take over the country with a man-about-town suit and a fake mustache. This is no ordinary fake mustache. This is the Heidelberg Handlebar #7 and it’s a force to be reckoned with. How will Lenny deal with mesmerized hordes chasing after him? Let’s just say it’s a good thing he’s got a cowgirl on his side.

This was a hilarious read and I was delighted to find an arc this last weekend. This book is quite the caper.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

:

The student book exchange is coming up at school so my goal is to get through some arcs. That way I can donate them to the students. I’d like to at least start the Lions of Little Rock because I’m hearing good things about it.

I started my reading week today with Blue Frog the Legend of Chocolate. This is a fun myth told by author and storyteller Dianne de Las Casas. I’m excited for her to Skype with some of my students.

I’m re-reading Breadcrumbs with an enrichment group at school. I need to get through at least five chapters this week.

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading From Picture Books to YA

  1. I just added I Will Not Read This Book to my TBR. It just begs to be read, good or not. Even though My Many Colored Das is definitely not classic Seuss, I think it’s a great story. I love the colors and the talk about emotions. I think Fake Mustache will be fun! I’m excited to read it. AND I’ve heard great stuff about Lions of LIttle Rock, too! So many books!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

