It’s Wednesday! What are you reading from Picture Books to YA

I was setting up my school’s March Reading Madness on Monday so here is my Monday reading wrap up on a Wednesday!

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures

Picture Books:

Builder Goose – It’s building time for some familiar mother goose rhymes. These are fun, but you’ll have to read them out loud to figure out what tunes/nursery rhyme patterns they fall into.

East Dragon, West Dragon – Two dragons live in opposite places and worry about the power of the other dragon. A king and his knights are sent after one of the dragons by the other.

Night Knight – The clever part of this book is the illustrations which show the little boy completing knightly tasks on his way to bed.

Goodnight, Dragons – A boy in the woods, dragons and hot chocolate? What more could you want from a whimsical goodnight story?

Crafty Chloe – Chloe promises rashly she’ll make a present for her friend’s birthday and then gets stuck on what to make.

Listen to My Trumpet! – Elephant and Piggie always make me grin. Pieggie has a trumpet and it is very LOUD.

What Was I scared of? – This Dr. Seuss story was pulled from The Sneetches. This edition glows in the dark. It’d be great for Flashlight reading…

Cat’s Night Out – I had a great time reading this cat counting book illustrated by Jon Klassen, he of I Want My Hat Back and Extra Yarn fame.

Fiction:

Duck for a Day – This funny book was originally published in Australia. A girl desperately wants to take home the class pet, but the duck has demands.

The Mighty Miss Malone – Deza Malone, who appeared briefly in Bud Not Buddy, is the main character in this historical fiction. Her family struggles to keep going during the Depression, but her father disappears. Your heart (and teeth) will ache when you immerse yourself in this book.

Reviews:
I posted reviews for Miss Annie’s Freedom, the graphic novel about an adventuresome and easily distracted young cat, and for Duck for a Day.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

:

I started off my week by reading My Many Colored Days, a new to me Dr. Seuss book. I hope to share that one with some students this week. I also read some Eric Carle picture books – Brown Bear, Brown Bear What Do you See; Does a Kangaroo Have a Mother?; and Ten Little Rubber Ducks. If anyone lives near a Kohl’s store, they have these books and matching animals at a great price.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

