It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures

Two things were a big influence on my reading this week. One was the latest arrival of Junior Library Guild books in my library. The other was the Anderson’s Children’s Literature Breakfast. The breakfast event was amazing. Katherine Applegate, Gordon Korman, Jane O’Conner, David Small and Augusta Scattergood were delightful presenters. I’ll hopefully have more to share on that wonderful event later this week. I ended up with nine new books, most of which are going to school.

Picture Books:

A Boy Called Dickens by Deborah Hopkinson is an imaginative retelling of what Charles Dickens’s life may have been like as a child based on the few details known today of his early life.

Ellen’s Broom by Kelly Starling Lyons is the story of how a family became married by law during reconstruction instead of just having been commonly married by jumping over a broom when they were slaves.

George Washington’s Birthday: A Mostly True Tale by Margaret McNamara provides a fun glimpse at the myths and facts of Washington’s childhood. I liked his first person afterward at the end. I hope to find a class to share this with tomorrow.

Nothing Like a Puffin by Sue Soltis. This clever, funny book of comparisons had me taking it down the hallway to offer to teachers to use in their classes as soon as I finished it.

Mustache by Mac Barneet. This is the ridiculous story of a king who thought putting up pictures of himself was more important than repairing roads.

Otto the Book Bear by Katie Clemenson appeals to the librarian and writer in me. A bear comes out of the pages of his book to find the real world to be a hazardous place until he finds the library.

The Really Awful Musicians by John Manders. There are musicians. There’s the decree of the king banning them. There’s a horse who draws out music and there’s a sackbut. Need I say more?

I Don’t Want to Be a Pea by Ann Bonwill is a light-hearted look at friendship trouble between two unlikely friends getting ready for a party.

Penny and Her Song by Kevin Henkes is a charmingly illustrated reader. I can’t wait to see Henkes at a bookstore event in March.

The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow by Andy Griffiths made me laugh. I enjoyed the Seussian feel of some of the illustrations.

Just as Good by Chris Crowe is a great civil rights and baseball picture book relating Larry Doby joining the Cleveland Indians and what that meant for major league baseball.

Graphic Novels:

Nursery Rhyme Comics: 50 Timeless Rhymes by 50 celebrated cartoonists. This is a brilliant anthology. Love the Nick Bruel, Patrick McDonnel and Raina Telgemeier pieces (and too many others to properly count).

Fiction:

Wonder by R. J. Palacio. Wow. This is a superb novel with its intertwining first person perspectives. Just Wow.

Nonfiction:

Reviews: I posted reviews for The One and Only Ivan and A Leaf Can Be.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

:

I’ve started this week off by blogging about Wonder. I feel like I could go on and on about this wonderful book. I’m so thankful I heeded the advice of all the teachers and librarians I’ve seen reading it and read this book.

I need to finish up A Diamond in the Desert this week. I also want to start on Stella Batts and Blood & Flowers, two of the other books I picked up from the Anderson’s Children’s Literature Breakfast. I want to read Kindred Souls this week as well as The Might Miss Malone, which was postponed from last week. Taking a peek at my NetGalley account, I still need to blog about Freedom, a graphic novel about a cat.. I also need to read Duck for a Day this week.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

  1. I still have to write my blog post about Wonder. I’ve been thinking about the book non-stop since I read it, and I passed it on to my fifth grader. I can’t wait to see what she has to say about the book, given that she’s the same age as Auggie and the other kids.

  2. I have to go double check that Wonder is on my library list.

  3. I’m really excited to read Wonder…hoping to get to it this week, we’ll see!

  4. I too am looking forward to Wonder. Thank you for the summaries of the other books. I know some & will look up the others. I like the idea of I Don’t Want to Be A Pea-what fun!

  5. I hope you like Miss Malone as much as I did:)

    • I have had to put it off a few times, which has been frustrating after what you and others have said about how good it is. I hope this is the week I finally get to read it!

  6. I have Nothing Like a Puffin on hold. LOVED Wonder. It made me cry and I never cry because of books. Or … rarely.

    Tempted to buy Otto the Book Bear. Anything library and book related! And bear related.

    Got The One and Only Ivan. On deck for this week! I’m excited. Bummed I never got a picture from back when I go visit him at the B&I. Of course that was a sad place so maybe that’s why. Didn’t want to document it.

    • Happy reading this week! I feel like I could read a month straight and never catch up on all the wonderful books out there.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

