It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Previous Reading Adventures: The Highlights

I’ve missed a few weeks of this for family reasons. I’ll give a few highlights to get things caught up.

Picture Books:

Petunia Goes Wild by Paul Schmid – A girl who’d rather be an animal proposes she become her parents’ pet, much to their horror.

Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett – A girl brightens her town and everyone in it with colorful knitting that attracts the attention of a greedy outsider. Readers of I Want My Hat Back will love a few cameos in the illustrations.

Mr. Prickles: A Quill-Fated Love Story by Kara LaReau – The other animals don’t include Mr. Prickles and he is all alone until he meets Miss Pointypants.

Dinosaur Mardi Gras by Dianne de las Casas – Mardi Gras is a stomping good time with this book.

Snowmen All Year by Caralyn Buehner – What would a boy do with his snowman if he could stay all year without melting?

Graphic Novels:

Giants Beware by Jorge Aguirre – It isn’t good enough that a giant was chased out of town. Claudette vows to slay the creature while aided by her brother, the pastry chef and sword-maker to be, and her friend, a princess in training.

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business by Maxwell Eaton III – A volcano has popped up overnight on Beaver Island and there’s something sinister about the Fish Stix business.

Fangbone by Michael Rex – Sent to Earth from his faraway home, Fangbone must survive third grade to create an army to depend the Big Toe of Drool.

Squish the Power of the Parasite by Jennifer and Matt Holm – What seems like Super Awesome Fun may not be so fun after all for Squish.

Fiction:

Bink and Gollie, Two for One by Kate DiCamillo – This second in the series is wonderful, giving both girls a chance to shine (and make me laugh).

39 Clues: Legacy by Clifford Riley – This is part of the Rapid Fire arc of stories. It takes place before Maze of Bones and I found the backstory interesting.

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate – This is absolutely, unbelievably awesome.

Nonfiction:

Basketball Belles by Sue Macy – the story of the first collegiate women’s basketball game.

A Butterfly is Patient by Dianna Hutts Aston – a gentle and beautiful nonfiction picture book.

The Case of the Vanishing Golden Frogs by Sandra Markle – an interesting scientific mystery and search for answers for upper elementary school.

How the Dinosaurs Got to the Museum by Jessie Hartland – this would be great for an elementary dinosaur or fossil unit.

Zooborns: Zoo Babies from Around the World by Andrew Bleiman – This adorable book is perfect for a sad day.

Audiobooks:

Joe Sherlock: The Haunted Toolshed by Dave Keane – a mystery series that is a bit on the slapstick side.

Stink and the Great Guinea Pig Express by Megan Macdonald – This is an entertaining story though the children’s voices were a bit grating.

White Cat by Holly Black (relisten) – I love, love, love Jesse Eisenberg’s performance as Cassel Sharpe.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

:

This week I’m hoping to read either Wonder or The Mighty Miss Malone. I need to blog about A Leaf Can Be and Freedom this week after reading their Netgalley arcs. I hope to write a review for the One and Only Ivan as well.

I’m looking forward to listening to some great authors and meeting some fantastic librarians and teachers at the Anderson’s Bookshop Children’s Literature Breakfast this next weekend.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

  1. I love Joe Sherlock books and Stink too. And Jesse Eisenberg is MY Cassel. I love that series on audio.

    • I listened to Joe Sherlock after you recommended them. Eisenberg is the perfect Cassel. I am very excited to see how Black Heart turns out.

  2. Thank you for your graphic novel suggestions – this is a genre my classroom library is sadly lacking in. Im reading “Mighty Miss. Malone” this week too!

    • Thank you for stopping by. I’ve read a lot more graphic novels in the last year than I did before and some of them are simply amazing.

  3. Love that you shared all those graphic novels-they are everywhere, aren’t they? And the Extra Yarn book sounds great. I’ve seen it talked about a lot of places, all positive. thanks!

    • Thank you for reading! It’s a great start of the year for graphic novels. Some of those are coming out later this spring. Extra Yarn is a delight.

  4. I loved The One and Only Ivan so much…so far my favorite read of 2012. I can’t wait to read the new Bink & Gollie…I so love that duo! And your the second person I’ve heard mention the Beaver Brothers…will be looking for that one! Thanks for sharing your list…Happy Reading this week!

  5. The One and Only Ivan is such a wonderfully moving reading experience. Bink & Gollie is on Netgalley if you use that at all.

  6. I’ll see you on Saturday! I’m excited. 🙂 I am enamored with Extra Yarn right now. I want to read it with everyone I know and curl up in its pages. I love the illustrations and what kids can learn from the characters. I love it. Glad you jumped back in!

Blog at WordPress.com.

