Fangbone Third Grade Barbarian by Michael Rex

Fangbone! Third-Grade BarbarianFangbone! Third-Grade Barbarian by Michael Rex
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fangbone is too small to be taken seriously by his fellow barbarians. Mocked and belittled, nevertheless it is Fangbone who is given an important role as battle threatens his home as everyone else insists they are needed for their combat prowess. The young barbarian is given the big toe of Drool and sent far away to keep the toe from falling back into Drool’s hands. It is the last piece Drool needs back to become an even more powerful enemy.

Fangbone finds himself on Earth. He spies a large building with many children entering. He thinks this could be the perfect place to raise an army to protect the toe. Little does he know that this palatial building (in his eyes) is a school and soon the barbarian is a part of class 3G with his new friend Bill.

There is much Fangbone doesn’t understand about school. He doesn’t know not to stand on the desks, what snack is or that a flush toilet is not a work of sorcery. He doesn’t know when the school bullies are making fun of him or why it is so horrible that 3G always loses the beanball tournament. His fellow classmates start adopting helmets, capes and furred underwear just like Fangbone, much to the frustration of their teacher. The principal, on the other hand, thinks this is a great way of learning through culture.

This isn’t just a story of being lost in a strange land. Fangbone’s troubles didn’t stay behind in Skullbania (which everyone at his school thinks is somehow in New Jersey). Monsters wanting Drool’s big toe begin appearing. While Fangbone does not shy away from a fight, he needs Bill’s help to deal with these monsters’ threats.

Michael Rex, the creator of Goodnight Goon, started this funny new graphic novel series with this book. Readers who enjoy Captain Underpants and Super Diaper Baby should enjoy this read and its gross moments. The story is easy to follow and Fangbone’s reactions to our world are bound to crack smiles. I think kids will also relate to the frustrations the students of 3G feel at losing time and time again.

View all my reviews

Advertisements
Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Fangbone Third Grade Barbarian by Michael Rex

  1. Hello. Thanks for the nice review. It’s great to be mentioned with Captain Underpants. I’m glad you picked up on the frustrations of the kids, as I think that, as fun as childhood is, it’s filled with just as much disappointment. I hope the kids in your school enjoy it.—Mike Rex.

  2. Thank you for stopping by. I’m excited to see what the first student to read Fangbone thought of it.

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA « Page in Training

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: