Bink and Gollie: Two for One by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee

Bink And Gollie, Two For OneBink And Gollie, Two For One by Kate DiCamillo
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Bink and Gollie are back and on their way to the state fair.One of their first stops is at the Whack-A-Duck booth where Bink’s aim is no match for her enthusiasm. While she doesn’t win the world’s largest donut in one toss, Bink’s pitching technique is bound to make young readers laugh.

It’s Gollie’s turn to put herself forward when the girls discover the Amateur Talent Show. Gollie joins the long wait to perform while Bink settles in next to the purple-suited judge to watch the other contestants. The first act is a pickle-juggling boy with a balancing problem and the second is a singer who brings a new meaning to caterwauling. Bink’s enthusiasm as Gollie takes the stage is precious, but I find the audience she gives Gollie afterwards more endearing.

Then the two girls have an appointment with destiny, though Bink has no idea of the meaning of the word. Madame Prunely tells the girls their immediate past, but it is the future that most excites them. My favorite illustrations came in this chapter of the book whent he girls wait outside the fortune teller’s tent and when Bink charges on to her future.

Tony Fucile’s illustrations are marvelous. Bink’s personality pops right off the page with her spiky blond hair and expressive features.I love the use of color to spotlight the two friends and focus the reader on the immediate action. I also enjoyed the buttons both girls sported by the end of the book.

These three stories would make an excellent classroom read aloud. Quirky, lovable, realistic characters make this book a delight. In this first book the two girls had to work through their differences and in this one they enjoy their day despite disappointments. I hope there will be more Bink & Gollie to come. I can’t wait to purchase this title for my school library.

My copy of this book came as a digital galley through NetGalley.

View all my reviews

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Bink and Gollie: Two for One by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee

  1. I’m really looking forward to this one. I loved the first Bink and Gollie book.

  2. Bink and Gollie are such engaging characters. I can’t wait until I have a hard copy to share with students.

Blog at WordPress.com.

