It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures: The Highlights

Reading took a hit last week when I was down with a winter cold. I’m hoping this week will go better. I didn’t end up reviewing any books on my blog other than an update on my Caldecott Challenge and a book for my Little Golden Book Challenge.

Picture Book: See Me Run by Paul Meisel. I read this book when it came in with a shipment from Junior Library Guild. The language is very simple, which would give it a good home with emergent readers. What I liked best about this book was the ending when the dogs in the story uncover a dinosaur. I think this book could be used to discuss surprise endings.

Nonfiction:

A lot of my reading related to books I read for Passport Nonfiction‘s You Gotta Have Art theme. I was excited to read both Snowflake Bently and Dave the Potter at last. Dave the Potter’s mark on history was very intriguing. Julia Morgan Built a Castle was the story of the woman who designed William Randolph Hearst’s estate. This is an interesting book on an architect.

My last two nonfiction reads related to music. Before John Was a Jazz Giant is a picture book about young John Coltrane. I think this would be a great book to pair with Rap-A-Tap-Tap because Bo Jangles is mentioned in Before John Was a Jazz Giant. Piano Starts Here was a book that grabbed my attention because of the piano on the cover. I’d never heard of Art Tatum before. In this book, I learned how this musician learned to play piano and got his start in music performance despite his decreasing vision.

Nerdbery: I’m continuing to slowly make progress on The Story of Mankind. I hope to be finished by the end of the week.

Audiobooks: I wrapped up Adventure According to Humphrey. This would be a fun read aloud for second or third grade.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

:

As I’m still on the mend, I don’t want to set a specific goal this week. I would like to continue to make headway on The Story of Mankind. I also have a bag full of Caldecott Winners and Honor Books waiting for me in addition to some 2011 nonfiction reads that finally came in at the public library. I’m also being distracted by Of Limited Loyalty, which is an adult alternate history/fantasy in pseudo-colonial America by Mike Stackpole.

Audiobooks: This week I plan on starting to listen to Moxy Maxwell.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

  1. Good luck with the award winners this week!

    Happy reading 🙂

  2. Your jazzy books remind me of This Jazzman by Karen Ehrhardt. You can see my review here: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2010/07/this-jazzman.html

    I think it’s cool that lots of people are reading through the award winners. I’m happy to hear how you all are doing as you go! 🙂

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

