Little Golden Challenge: The Sailor Dog

Little Golden Challenge logo

This year I am rereading all of my family’s Little Golden Books. Titles in the family collection consist primarily of books from the 1940s to 1980s. The first Little Golden Books were published in 1942.

Last weekend, I read The Sailor Dog for this challenge. I selected this book because I wondered what would happen with a dog on a boat. This is not the only sailing themed Little Golden Book in my family’s collection. This weekend I will read another one of the sailing books.

The Sailor Dog Front Cover

Challenge Book 2: The Sailor Dog
Author: Margaret Wise Brown
Illustrator: Garth Williams
Publication Year: 1953

I was surprised and pleased to see that Garth Williams, who illustrated the Little House books I grew up with, worked together on this book with Margaret Wise Brown. Runaway Bunny and Goodnight Moon were two of my childhood books that I greatly enjoyed.

In this story Scuppers, the Sailor Dog, longs for the sea. He eventually sets off on a long journey. He has to endure a shipwreck, building a shelter, repairing his boat and the market in a foreign land.

Favorite Illustration:

Sailor Dog in Storm

It feels like the helm could spin back at Scuppers at any moment in this picture.

Scuppers's Song

This book has Scuppers’s sailing song at the end of it.

Back Cover:

Sailor Dog Back Cover

This cover has separate numbers for the Disney Little Golden Books.

Unrelated to the writing or the illustrations, one of my favorite things in this book is that my dad and my uncle’s names are written on the inside in my grandma’s handwriting.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

One thought on “Little Golden Challenge: The Sailor Dog

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA « Page in Training

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

