It’s Monday! What Are You Reading: From Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures: The Highlights

Fiction:

I read Joseph Bruchac’s Dragon Castle at last. I enjoyed this fantasy novel which included elements of folklore from Slovakia. I’d only read Bruchac’s Skeleton Man before so it was interesting to read a different genre from him. I need to read more of his other work.

I also started The Story of Mankind at last. I’ve read up to the section of the Phoenicians. One disadvantage of my Nook version is the places where the text refers to figures I can’t see.

Nonfiction: With kicking off Passport Nonfiction reading choices in the book letters I write each week to my library classes, I read a lot of children’s nonfiction picture books. The theme was Animals Hot and Cold. First and foremost I have to say that Nic Bishop‘s photography is simply amazing. I was blown away by what I saw in his Lizards and Frogs books. I need to read the Marsupials and Butterflies books to complete that set.

Some other nonfiction books I read would work well with early elementary students. One is Darrin Lunde’s Meet the Meerkat. Another is Martin Jenkins’s The Emperor’s Egg. The narrative structure of Panther: Shadow of the Swamp also would work well for kindergarten or first grade.

I also read two great titles the Steve Jenkins helped create this last week. One was I See A Kookaburra, which is a book about habitats. One page shows animals in their habitat and the one behind shows where the animals were hiding and some facts about them. The other was How to Clean a Hippopotamus, which was absolutely fascinating. I was amazed at how all of these animals work together in mutualistic pairs. My favorite was the boxer crab that uses sea anemones like boxing gloves.

Picture Books: I read several different books for #nerdcott. My favorite of those for the week was Andy and the Lion, probably because of the library in it. I read the forthcoming Red Knit Cap Girl as well.

Audiobooks: This last week I finally introduced myself to two series I hadn’t gotten around to before: Piper Reed by Kimberly Willis Holt and Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney. I normally use longer audiobooks for my commuting (see my tendency toward fantasy), so it was a pleasant surprise to get through two books this week. I also started Adventure According to Humphrey by Betty G. Birney. I was tempted to turn it off as soon as I started because the narration grated on me. However, now I’m glad I stuck with it. This Humphrey book is really funny.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

:

This week I would like to make more progress on the Story of Mankind for #nerdbery. With being sick right now and having some presentations to prepare, I’m not really going to plan my reading past that.

I did read a stack of picture books today that I’d picked up over the weekend from the library. 11 Experiments that Failed by Jenny Officil was different than I expected but quite funny. Zombie in Love was also amusing. For the Nonfiction perspective, I was intrigued by Eliza in Eliza’s Cherry Trees.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

