2012 Reading Goals

2011 was an incredible reading year for me where I read or listened to 565 different books. My initial goal last year was 200 books, which ended up being raised to 550 by December. This year my initial goal is 400 books because I want to read more chapter books.

I’m excited to be participating in some reading challenges for 2012. Two of these are related to award winning books, specifically the Caldecott and Newbery Awards.

The Caldecott Challenge is a challenge where participants read all the Caldecott winners and honor books in a year. The challenge is, however, meant to be a stress-free challenge so it can be tweaked to fit individual participant needs. If you’d like to find out more about the challenge and sign up to participate, please visit LibLaura5‘s kick off post. I will be reading the Caldecott award winners and honorees out of order as I find them available through the public library system and through my school library. I’m hoping to learn more about picture book art through this challenge.

The challenge can be followed with the hashtag #nerdcott on Twitter.

Ready to read the first caldecott winner with some help.

The Newbery Medal Reading Challenge is a challenge to read all the Newbery Medal Winners in two years (though individual participants can tweak this). This challenge is being hosted on MrSchuReads.com and sharpread.wordpress.com. I have chosen to read the winners in chronological order like many of the participants. You can find out more about the challenge through an introduction video here. Follow this challenge using the twitter hashtag #nerdbery

Story of Mankind downloaded from Project Gutenberg

A personal challenge for 2012 is to read my family’s collection of Little Golden Books. Many of these were books that belonged to my dad as a child and some are mine as well. I want to revisit some old favorites like The Color Kittens and try some of the ones my dad owned that I haven’t read.

This year I would also like to read books. I also want to work on reading more nonfiction and more early chapter books as these are areas where I need to work on improving when recommending books to students.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

Blog at WordPress.com.

