If it weren’t for Nerdy Book Club, I never would have read…

Reading friends are a great benefit. They celebrate favorite reads with you and new milestones. They understand your enthusiasm for a character and know what it is to countdown to an awaited release. They won’t mind if you jump up and down in excitement explaining the book you just finished or if you get all tongue tied in your rush to describe how wonderful a reading experience was.

This year my circle of reading friends exploded through wonderful Twitter conversations with #titletalk and #bookaday. I stretched beyond the borders of my writing and face to face friends and began following librarians and other educators on goodreads. Many of the people in my circle of reading friends now belong to Nerdy Book Club (#nerdybookclub on Twitter) From these people I was lead to books I otherwise might have passed over because I didn’t know about them or because they were outside my reading tendencies. Thank you for broadening my reading life. Here is a handful of the titles they introduced me to in 2011.

1. Ghetto Cowboy by G. Neri. Cole is forced to live with the father he never knew and is stunned to discover his father keeps a horse inside his Philadelphia home.

2. Hound Dog True by Linda Urban. Mattie plans on becoming a janitor’s apprentice to keep clear of recess at her new school. That’s what her notebook is for; it’s not for stories, not ever.

3. I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen.

4. Little Owl’s Night by Divya Srinivasan. This is a beautiful night story that is also available at We Give Books.

5. The One and Only Stuey Lewis by Jane Schoenberg. Stuey’s second grade year is off to a terrible beginning.

What discoveries did you make in 2011 thanks to reading friends? How do you share with your reading friends?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “If it weren’t for Nerdy Book Club, I never would have read…

  1. I’d have to say that “A Monster Calls” and “Bigger Than a Bread Box” were both twitter finds! Loved them both!

  2. Pingback: Middle Grade Memories in 2011 « Page in Training

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

