It’s Monday? What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading and to target my next reads from the growing pile waiting for me.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures: The Highlights

Fiction: I read Ghetto Cowboy by G. Neri. This is the book I plan on reviewing for Book Talk Tuesday this week. The story of a teen in trouble is common; the solution that Cole’s mom pursues is not. I started Jefferson’s Sons, but I have not read past the first few chapters yet. I still hope to finish it this week. I did some fiction rereading by revisiting some of my favorite parts of The Mostly True Story of Jack by Kelly Barnhill.

Picture Books: E-mergency by Tom Lichtenheld made me smile. The letter E is in an accident and the other letters make O step up and take E’s place while she recovers. The problem is that E isn’t getting better, even after people are banned from using her. This book breaks the fourth wall in an amusing way.

I also read Mini Grey’s Three by the Sea. This is a fun friendship book that also deals with compromise and change. When a stranger spreads some disconnect between a mouse, cat and dog, can their friendship stand the test?

To wrap up my picture book reads of the week, I also read Joyce Sidman’s Swirl by Swirl. I wasn’t quite sure whether to count this book under picture books or under nonfiction. I enjoyed the artwork in this book that explores spirals and swirls in nature. I also thought the back matter of the book was well done.

Nonfiction: The Watcher by Jeanette Winter is a very engaging picture book biography of Jane Goodall. It provided a more detailed look at her life than Me…Jane (I enjoyed both of these biographies and think they would pair together well). Underground: Finding the Light to Freedom by Shane W. Evans gives readers an immediate sense of tension as a group of slaves tries to escape. This could be used in an introduction to that time in history. Same Same But Different by Jenny Sue-Kostecki Shaw is a cultural comparison book for primary grades. One connection for this book would be to have students create their own versions with a classroom from another country. Giles Laroche created If You Lived Here. This was my favorite nonfiction read of the week. This book covers different types of housing around the world and across time. There are houses inside caves, barns connected to houses and more. Common information elements on each two page spread make this a great book to use when teaching comparisons.

I was so very grateful for my short Saturday break between flute rehearsals and decorating to spend time with my pile of public library reads I’d requested based on reviews and suggestions from my online friends.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

This week is a busy one, so my goal is to finish Jefferson’s Sons. I hope to explore other books as well once I’m done creating a presentation with a colleague.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday? What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

  1. I just saw Swirl By Swirl on another blog. Definitely adding it to my list, it looks beautiful. I’m teaching compare and contrast with Nothing Like a Puffin after break but I’m going to check out Same Same But Different and If You Lived Here to see if one would match nicely with my Puffin book! Thanks for joining us!

  2. I hope one of those books works out for your compare and contrast lesson!

Blog at WordPress.com.

