It’s Monday? What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts are starting a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading and to target my next reads from the growing pile waiting for me.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures: The Highlights

Fiction: I finished up Sparrow Road, which was the contemporary middle grade novel I reviewed last week.  When Raine has to give up her summer vacation to live at Sparrow Road, an artist’s retreat where her mom has taken a summer job, she is angry and confused. The mysteries she finds there with some of the artists draws out her curiosity. I also read Wonderstruck, which was phenomenal. I finished Linda Urban’s Hound Dog True, which I will be reviewing this week.

Picture Books:  Jan Thomas’s Is Everyone Ready for Fun? turned out to be a hilarious picture book for emergent readers. Chicken tries and tries to get these cows to leave his couch alone, but they want to dance on it, jump on it, etc. I also read Eric Rohman’s Bone Dog, which I found to be a sweet story about a boy and his dog that died (Yes,  skeletons and sweet can coexist). Hello to Zorro by Carter Goodrich is a funny story of two dogs that should appeal to fans of Scaredy Squirrel.

Other standouts for the week include Little Owl’s Night by Divya Srinivasan, which can be read over at We Give Books. George Flies South by Simon James is the comical story of a baby bird who just isn’t ready to fly yet and what his first few ‘flights’ look like (Hint: Think riding rather than flying).  Sports Readers might enjoy The Day Roy Riegels Ran the Wrong Way by Dan Gutman, which is about the events of one Rose Bowl Game.

Nonfiction:

I’m working on some catch up reading for Nonfiction Navigators, a group I belong to on Goodreads. November was the month to read Kadir Nelson’s books. I was amazed by what I learned and read in Heart and Soul and A Nation’s Hope.

I also enjoyed being able to read Melissa Sweet’s Balloons Over Broadway and  Patrick McDonell’s Me…Jane at long last. I loved the behind the scenes history of the balloons at the Macy’s Parade in Sweet’s book. It would have been great to tie this into my inventors/scientists project with fourth grade.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

There are many enticing fantasy reads in my TBR piles for the end of the year. I wanted to make sure I read a little wider than that so this week my goal is to finish the two books I started yesterday. Ghetto Cowboy is by G. Neri is one I picked up on the recommendation of Colby Sharp. I read the first four chapters and can’t wait to see how the rest of the book goes. I’m also reading Kimberly Brubaker Bradley’s Jefferson’s Sons.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday? What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA

  1. I just started reading Hound Dog True with Colby! I’m liking it already. I loved A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban, too. And I loved Wonderstruck! I read it in one night. I’m excited to read more by Kadir Nelson, Heart and Soul looks great! Thanks for joining us!

  2. Little Owl’s Night is on We Give Books? How did I miss that? Only … our school network blocks it half the time. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. So lame. Can’t wait to see that Jan Thomas books. I tell the kids she is sort of like a girl Mo Willems … her characters are so funny sort of just from the way the eyebrows tilt. Anyway. Too many books and not enough time, right? Later!

    • That’s too bad about your school and We Give Books. I completely agree about the characters being funny in Jan Thomas’s works. Faces are so expressive!

      Thanks for stopping by and I best get to my reading too.

  3. Man- I got to get around to Hound Dog True. It is the book that Twitter is all a-twitter about. Liked Crooked Kind of Perfect, so looking forward to reading it. I also really want to read Sparrow Road as well- I’ve had the ARC since last NCTE, but haven’t gotten to it yet.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

