Picture Book Month: Holidays

Using the Picture Book Month Calendar, I am going to post five favorite picture books of mine for each day of November. Today’s theme is holidays.

In picking my books today, visited my old bookcases in the basement of my parents’ house. I wanted to find the ones that struck my younger self.

1. The Poky Little Puppy’s Wonderful Winter Day by Jean Chandler is the first of two Little Golden Books to show up on this list. I think I need to have a Little Golden Book reading spree this winter.

2. Bialosky’s Christmas by Leslie McGuire is a great story of a bear getting ready for the holiday with decorating, treats, etc.

3. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer by Barbara Shook Hazen. This book was worth much more than 74 cent store sticker still on the cover indicates!

4. Christmas Carols A Treasury of Holiday Favorites with Words and Pictures Illustrated by Noel Tennyson. I would cart this book around with me in December to have words on hand to sing.

5. Porkchop’s Halloween by Susan Pearson. I loved this series of mischievous Halloween adventures of Rosie’s cat Porkchop. I vividly remember sharing my own version of a Porkchop story with my dad when he was in the hospital in my elementary school days (Yes, a number of my first stories were fanfiction way before I’d ever heard of fanfiction). The pictures made me laugh as did Rosie’s interactions with her brother.

While I don’t have a specific title favorite in the series, I remember pouring over Christmas books from the Arch Books series of Bible picture books growing up. I was somewhat surprised not to find a specific nativity Christmas book that I loved as a child. If there was one, I’ve since passed it on to another reader or family.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

