Picture Book Month: Dragons

Using the Picture Book Month Calendar, I am going to post five favorite picture books of mine for each day of November. Today’s theme is dragons.

From when I was six two images of dragons on screen stick in my mind. One is Smaug in all his might riddling with Bilbo Baggins and burning Lake Town. The other is Puff the Magic Dragon in the animated special of his song. Given that, my first book pick of today shouldn’t be a surprise.

Dragons come in all shapes and sizes, from fierce to almost cuddly. They capture the imagination with their wings and flame. Countless knights-to-be fight them valiantly with sword and spatula.

1. Puff, the Magic Dragon by Peter Yarrow. I cannot think of this book without whistling and humming happily. This song brings to mind many things, including campfire sing-a-longs.

2. Princess Peepers Picks a Pet by Pam Calvert. The princess needs a pet for the royal pet show and she finds a pet very different than all the others.

3. The Library Dragon by Carmen Agra Deedy. Sunrise Elementary School is in for real trouble when a dragon becomes the school librarian.

4. The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch. This was one of my first encounters with a spitfire princess. I found the 25th anniversary edition in my school library this morning and am excited to explore the extras in this book.

5. Argus by Michelle Knudsen. When one girl’s egg hatches for her science project, she discovers it is most definitely NOT a chicken.

I also can’t forget Sir Cumference and the Dragon of Pi, which made me laugh in Teaching Math class at all the character names. I can also still picture exactly where my elementary school librarian kept the Dear Dragon books in the library.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

One thought on “Picture Book Month: Dragons

  1. Pingback: Picture Book Month: Princesses « Page in Training

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

