Picture Book Month: Chickens

Using the Picture Book Month Calendar, I am going to post five favorite picture books of mine for each day of November. Today’s theme is chickens.

Chickens bring to mind all sorts of folk tales to me with Little Red Hen, Chicken Little and Chicken Lickin. I shared one of my favorite chicken books back on the Birds day with Little Chicken’s Big Day. However, there are still plenty of plucky books to share today!

To start today’s list I have to turn to the book that had kids crowing (sorry) in the library today. It is also one of the contenders for Wisconsin’s Golden Archer Awards

1. Interrupting Chicken by Ezra David Stein. I loved stopping and asking kids what should happen in the stories Little Red hears and their expressions when she blurts out her new endings.

2. Chicken Big by Keith Graves entertained kindergarten and first grade during book checkout today. They couldn’t believe anyone could mistake a chicken for an elephant!

3. Blue Chicken by Deborah Freedman was new to me today as it arrived last week in a package for the library. A barn is being painted and one chicken ends up in the blue paint. The blue goes everywhere and a bit of chaos unfolds.

4.Chicks Run Wild by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen. These little chickens just aren’t ready for bed!

5. Little Red Hen by Lucinda McQueen. My favorite version of Little Red Hen is actually one from a basal I used when I was a first grade classroom assistant, but I can’t find anything online to share from that version. I believe it might have been by Cynthia Rothman, but I am unsure.

A new one to my school that third grade snatched up to check out today was Chicken Butt’s Back by Erica Perl.

I’ll admit I sort of wanted to pretend Doreen Cronin’s The Trouble with Chickens was a picture book so I could include it as well.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

