Picture Book Month: Mice

Using the Picture Book Month Calendar, I am going to post five favorite picture books of mine for each day of November. Today’s theme is mice.

Mice are everywhere in picture books. I have dozens of books that I can put out for my students today, which is exciting. Picking five was difficult. Two of my favorite books with mice can be found back on my Seasons post this month.

1. Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes is the story of a mouse girl who comes to despise her name after she starts kindergarten and the other children make fun of her. It takes her parents and her teachers to remind her how special she is. In elementary school, Kevin Henkes came to my school library and drew some of his mice characters for us. I also like how Wisconsin shows up in one of the pictures in school.

2. If You Take a Mouse to School by Laura Numeroff is a fun circle story to share with students. A fun tie in is for students to create a story based on ‘If You Take’. This one makes me laugh.

3. Mouse and Mole A Winter Wonderland by Herbert Yee is the story of two friends that is great to share with students who enjoy readers.

4. Owen by Kevin Henkes is a charming book about growing up and one mouse child’s attachment to his blanket.

5. Mickey Meets the Giant by Walt Disney Company is one of my childhood books from 1985. In it, the story of Jack and the Beanstalk is retold with Disney characters.

I am also a fan of different versions of City Mouse, Country Mouse.

On the subject of rodents, Naked Mole Rat Gets Dressed by Mo Willems is also worth a read (and a laugh).

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Picture Book Month: Mice

  1. Nice selection and Henkes has two! 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Picture Book Month: School « Page in Training

Blog at WordPress.com.

