My Life in Caldecott

This is a sister post to last week’s Life in Newbery. As a young reader, I was very much into series picture books. I still have dozens of Clifford, Little Critter, Berentstain Bears, and Arthur books saved from then. I’ve enjoyed branching out from my childhood comfort reads. I also really wanted to think of a big 2008 milestone so I could include Hugo Cabret, but I couldn’t manage it.

I was born in 1981:

Caledecott Award Winner: Fables by Arnold Lobel (unread)

I haven’t read this book or any of the honor books from this year. As an elementary student I loved Arnold Lobel’s Frog and Toad books.

I started kindergarten in 1986:

Caldecott Medal Winner: The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg (Houghton)

This is a great picture book and has also become a fun movie. The first graders at my previous district were thrilled when it was Polar Express time. They’d get to hear the book, have cocoa and watch the movie. The teachers also had bells for them some year, tickets for the train, etc.

I was in my first year of middle school in 1994:

Caldecott Medal Winner: Grandfather’s Journey by Allen Say (unread)

Of the honor books for 1994, I have read Owen by Kevin Henkes. He visited my elementary school in sixth grade, which was a definite perk of growing up near Madison. I remember sitting in the LGI off the school library and watching him draw a few pictures of his mice. I’m pretty sure he drew Lily for us.

My freshman year of high school was 1996:

Caldecott Medal Winner: Officer Buckle and Gloria by Peggy Rathmann

I shared this book a few weeks ago with some first graders at summer school. Gloria’s antics are fantastic while her officer shares safety rules.

I graduated from high school in the spring of 1999:

Caldecott Medal Winner: Snowflake Bentley, Illustrated by Mary Azarian, text by Jacqueline Briggs Martin (unread)

I really need to read this one. I have read David Shannon’s No, David. One of the summer school classes was obsessed with the David books and would want to check out every copy we had, even if they were in a language they couldn’t read!

I completed college in January 2004:

Caldecott Medal Winner: The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein (unread)

Mo Willems’ Pigeon scored one of the honor books. I didn’t read any of Mo’s stories until this about a year ago, but I have quickly come to greatly appreciate Pigeon, Elephant and Piggie. The best thing in the school library where I’ve worked summer school is the stool with the picture of Pigeon painted on it.

I started library school in 2006:

Caldecott Medal Winner: The Hello, Goodbye Window illustrated by Chris Raschka and written by Norton Juster (unread)

I struck out on all the honor books and the winner for this year, which is embarrassing.

I finished my master’s at the end of 2010:

Caldecott Medal Winner: The Lion & the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney

This is a lovely wordless retelling of the old fable.

I started working as a school librarian in 2011:

Caldecott Award Winner: A Sick Day for Amos McGee, illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Philip C. Stead

This gentle story was fun to share with the going to be kindergarten students at summer school. I also loved honor book Interrupting Chicken. It is so enjoyable to see students’ reactions to the young chicken’s changes to folk/fairy tales.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

