Maggie Stiefvater in Madison

Barnes and Noble Display for Maggie Stiefvater

Earlier this week I had the opportunity to attend an author event featuring Maggie Stiefvater. Maggie is the author of the Wolves of Mercy Falls (Shiver, Linger and Forever) as well as the Books of Faerie (Lament and Ballad). Besides fulfilling my young adult fantasy fix, I enjoy her books for the character interactions, the weaving in of back story, the lyricism of her words and the music. On her website, there are musical tracks she has written and performed that go with her books as well as exquisitely crafted book trailers. In October, she has a new book coming out called Scorpio Races that I’m excited to read (there are water horses! Horses are a big draw for me – I used to work at a horseback riding camp).

Maggie’s talk was hysterical and engaging. If you ever have the chance to see her life, I highly recommend you take the opportunity. There were Star Wars references, Disney references, and voices. She told us how she came to be on a road trip tour and finding out she was on the NYT bestseller list. Maggie also answered a number of questions. In dealing with the difficult question of where do ideas come from, she acted out her experience reading The Time Traveler’s Wife for the second time and wanting to write something to make people cry. One of my favorite quotes from her talk was that “No one really runs away with wolves any more.”

Maggie Stiefvater

I captured two of her questions and answers. Please forgive the quality of these videos as I was working with a new camera. The first video describles what first thrown out first version of Forever. The second video discusses the titles of the Wolves of Mercy Falls books.


After the Q&A, I was able to get my copy of Forever signed. I also purchased Tessa Gratton‘s Blood Magic and had it signed by Tessa, a critique partner of Maggie’s. Blood Magic is Tessa’s first published book. I look forward to reading this title. Maggie, Tessa, and Brenna Yovanoff run Merry Sisters of Fate, where they post weekly short stories and discuss writing.

On her blog, you can see Maggie’s visit to Wisconsin’s Cave of the Mounds.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Maggie Stiefvater in Madison

  1. This is basically fantastic. 😀