Book Ramblings: Little Chicken’s Big Day

Little Chicken's Big DayLittle Chicken’s Big Day by Jerry Davis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Little Chicken’s Big Day is a brightly told picture book recounting one small chick’s day out with his mom. This charming story is full of attitude that will have both children and adults grinning. The little chick replies to his mom’s demands to get ready and buckle up with the repeated “I hear you cluckin’, Big Chicken”.

It isn’t long before curiosity has the little chick wandering off after a butterfly and is soon separated from Big Chicken. Her big clucking voice helps him joyfully reunite with her. The simple illustrations show how they spend the rest of their delightful day before bedtime inevitably arrives.

This book is bound to be a hit with storytime groups. I could also see it being used to discuss what children should do if they get lost or separated from a parent or class. I look forward to sharing this title at my school library.

My copy generously came from http://twitter.com/MrSchuReads

View all my reviews

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

