Book Ramblings: When I Grow Up

When I Grow UpWhen I Grow Up by Al Yankovic
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I think of Weird Al, I inevitably think of The Saga Begins or Albuquerque. I was curious to see what he would do for the text of a picture book. I expected something out of the ordinary, and I was not disappointed.

Billy is eagerly awaiting show and tell so he can share what he wants to be when he grows up. He spins a vision of himself as a the most successful of chefs, but, as his teacher and classmates soon learn, that is only the beginning of his job related dreams. From the technical to absurd, from giraffe milker to gorilla masseuse, Billy wants a bit of them all. At eight he refuses to pick just one job to set his sights on.

Told in rhyming verse, this book begs to be read aloud. It would be the perfect companion to Oh, the Places You’ll Go! as a story to read with older students or at graduations. The illustrations by Wes Harris are filled with details that add to the zaniness of Billy’s dream jobs. As an educator, the final job that Billy mentions caused a grateful smile.

I won my signed copy of When I Grow Up from http://www.thepageturn.com/

View all my reviews

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

