It’s Monday! What Are You Reading from Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

This is my post history-cation edition! What’s a historycation? Read to find out.

Reading Adventures of the Last Two Weeks

Picture Book:

Dino-Football by Lisa Wheeler (read through Netgalley) – Another fun title for early elementary. Some interesting rules and football related terms are tossed into this one.

Nonfiction Picture Books:

The House that George Built by Suzanne Slade – This picture book depicts the role George Washington had in the construction of the White House. This book could be read in two ways. For a younger group or introduction, the cumulative story based on This is the House That Jack Built could be read. For an older group, the informational part of the story could be read. I picked this book up at Mount Vernon.

Big George by Anne F. Rockwell – An interesting picture biography of George Washington, his childhood and how he grew up. I liked how it looked at Washington’s character.

Fiction:

Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead (Read through Netgalley)- I loved this story and can’t wait to get it for my library at school. Georges (his parents named him for Georges Seurat) has to move from his house to an apartment because times are tough for his parents. At the new apartment, he and his dad find a note for a Spy Club in the laundry. When his date leaves a question about the time of the meeting, Georges is surprised when there is an answer. Georges grudgingly goes to the meeting and meets Safer and his sister Candy. Sworn to secrecy about the club, Georges has to learn how to observe, how to watch the entrances and more as they keep track of the mysterious Mr. X. This book comes out in August.

Palace of Stone by Shannon Hale (Read through Netgalley) – I was thrilled to discover Shannon Hale had written a sequel to Princess Academy. Miri and several other Mount Eskel girls travel to Asland to be the princess’s ladies. Miri is to attend the academy at Queen’s Castle. Peder also heads to capital to apprentice to a carver. Miri soon learns there is much unrest among the people and is given the task of figuring out which side is most likely to come out on top so Mount Eskel can safely pick a side. I loved this chance to meet these characters once more and see how they grew. This book comes out in August.

The Black Cauldron by Lloyd Alexander – A reread of my tattered, beloved copy. I enjoyed revisiting Taran and company.

One Year in Coal Harbor by Polly Horvath (Read through Netgalley) – Primrose’s attempts at matchmaking made me laugh. One of the things I liked best about this book was her friendship with Ked, a new foster boy that Evie and Bert take in.

Graphic Novels:

One Dead Spy by Nathan Hale (Read through Netgalley) – This is the first in Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales series. It’s a funny offbeat graphic novel that tells of Nathan Hale’s failed attempt at espionage and other aspects of the Revolutionary War. History is told to a hangsman and a Provost as Hale tries to postpone his execution.

Big Bad Ironclad by Nathan Hale – The second in the Hazardous Tales series arrived while I was on vacation. It was such fun to see this series in print. Big Bad Ironcald is illustrated with a highlight color of blue. It tells about Will Cushing, who had a wild career with the Navy in the Civil War. He is kicked out of the naval academy, then given a low ranking officer role when the Civil War begins. Cushing’s career is almost like that of someone is special ops. Now I have to wait until next year for another volume in this series.

Broxo by Zack Giallongo (Read through Netgalley) – This is a fantasy graphic novel that I think is most suitable for middle school. Strange, perilous creatures and a murky past propel this read forward as a princess arrives looking for the Peryton clan.

Currently in Progress:

I’m in the middle of Kashmira Sheth’s The No-Dogs-Allowed Rule which comes out on September 1 (The copy I am reading is through Netgalley). This book strikes me as one that’d be great to share with third grade. It’s set in Oshkosh, WI.

Reviews: This week I reflected on 31 books that shaped me as a reader. If you want, you can guess why I picked 31 as the number.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

I would like to finish The No-Dogs-Allowed Rule. I have a brand new book by Jeff Shaara to read about the Battle of Shiloh. I used to adore his historical fiction so I am looking forward to this read. I also want to start another galley that I have, maybe Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan or 3 Below by Patrick Carman.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading from Picture Books to YA

  1. I’m still wondering about the student appeal of Liar and Spy– I know that all of the teachers and librarians really like it, but I don’t know that my students will connect to it. Maybe it’s that big city apartment setting. Hmmm.

    • I’m excited to see what students will think of Liar & Spy. I think there are draws to it that can appeal even if the setting is unfamiliar to readers in certain areas.

  2. I loved Liar and Spy. It left an emotional imprint on me.

  3. I, too, loved Liar & Spy and can see a certain type of kid really enjoying it. Oh, how I adore The Black Cauldron. Just read it for the first time in the last year and I can see why it is such a classic!

  4. I am another Liar and Spy fan. The kid appeal to me is obvious. It’s an introspective novel. Many avid readers spend a lot of time in their heads and like to get in someone else’s. Plus wow is Stead good! Can’t wait to read Palace of Stone. Princess Academy is a favourite of mine.

    • I’m so glad Shannon Hale took her time in approaching a sequel for Princess Academy. Now I need to reread Princess Academy for the scene with the bandits.

  5. Oh! The House that George Built sounds interesting. Will have to add that to the TBR list. I am working on finishing Coal Harbor. I love her writing … its full of so many wonderful lines. I’m just having Nook problems moving the Netgalley ARC over. Never had issues before. :/ Oh well.

  6. I too read Liar & Spy today and loved it. Stead is so good at what she does.
    I have Dead Guy Spy to read as well- I need to get around to it :)
    I haven’t read any of the others- I have to get going!

    Happy reading this week! :)

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,940 other followers

