It’s Monday! What are You Reading from Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures

The fourth of July was a very productive reading day. I was excited to read some of these chapter books at last, especially after what Nerdy Book Club and Titletalk friends were saying about them. I will definitely be getting some of them for my new 5th-6th grade school.

Fiction:

The Adventures of Nanny Piggins by R.A. Spratt – Two children end up with an unforgettable mischievous former circus pig with a chocolate addiction as a nanny. Dan Santat did the illustrations.

Vordak the Incomprehensible: Rule the School - One of supervillain Vordak’s gadgets turned his age back too far, leaving him with a middle school body. He needs a very specific part to repair his gadget and it can only be found inside the local junior high. This outrageous villain makes for laughable reading.

Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage – Mo’s small town grapples with the aftermath of Mr. Jesse’s murder. Mo is determined to solve the case before outside detective Joe Starr. Mo is a girl with her own mysterious past, having been pulled from a creek as a baby after a hurricane. The Colonel and Miss Lana, the two who have raised Mo and run the cafe where she lives, are intriguing. I’m still not sure what I think of Mo’s best friend.

One for the Murphys by Lynda Hunt Mullahy – This is an incredible middle grade read that brought me near to tears. Carley Connors is sent to a foster family after a horrible event involving her stepfather. As Carley struggles to remember exactly what happened, she is wary of the Murphys. The oldest boy clearly doesn’t want her there and she is uncertain about the firefighter father. It is Mrs. Murphy that she cannot figure out at all.

Jinxed! by Kurtis Scaletta – This is the first book in a new series. Chad has a job as a batboy with the Pine City Porcupines, the local baseball team. He is super excited because this is his favorite team of his favorite sport. Eric Wight’s illustrations are delightful and this was a fun chapter book read.

The Prince Who Fell From the Sky by John Claude Bemis (read on Netgalley) – My best description of this book is as a post apocalyptic Jungle Book. Skinless Ones (humans) are supposed to be extinct. Then a spacecraft crashes to the ground and a cub of the Skinless One survives. Casseomae, an outcast bear with no surviving cubs of her own, takes in the Skinless One. With the aid of a rat named Dumpster, Casseomae must get the cub to safety before the wolves catch up. I loved the worldbuilding on this one.

Poetry:

The President’s Stuck in the Bathtub by Susan Katz – I loved the odd facts included in this book of poems about the presidents.

Outside Your Window: A First Book of Nature by Nicola Davies – Organized by season, this illustrated volume of poetry would be great to use with students.

Currently in Progress:

Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales: One Dead Spy (read on Netgalley) – The hangsman wants to know about Nathan Hale’s spy experiences while at the gallows. It starts with a discussion of last words. Nathan and the British soldier overseeing the hanging argue over the American Revolution in this irreverent historical graphic novel.

If you’d like to see a great finished review of One Dead Spy, visit Travis Jonker’s100 Scope Notes.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

I want to finish reading One Dead Spy. Also hoping to tackle Liar & Spy or Palace of Stone this week. As it is history vacation time, I also want to read an older book of nonfiction called The Gleam of Bayonets, which is about the battle of Antietam.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading from Picture Books to YA

  1. I can’t wait to read Three Times Lucky. It sounds sooo good. One for the Murphys too! I *just* ordered One Dead Spy for my library’s collection. Been ordering non-fiction graphic novels lately. Liar & Spy is excellent, I thought, and I really want to read Palace of Stone as well although I probably ought to reread Princess Academy first. I don’t remember it real well.

  2. I keep hearing good things about One Dead Spy and One for the Murphys. I hadn’t heard about The President’s Stuck … must add that one to the TBR list!

  3. Three Times Lucky sounds great! I also want to read One for the Murphys. The TBR pile grows again…

  4. Haven’t read Jinxed, but I’ll have to take a look at it. Sounds interesting, and the boys do like to read sports books!

  5. Nice list! I bought One for the Murphys this week and hope to read it soon. Vordak is a big hit in my classroom- I will have to read it soon. I have One Dead Spy from Netgalley as well; I look forward to reading it.

    Happy reading this week! :)

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,940 other followers

