It’s Monday! What are You Reading from Picture Books to YA

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures

Fiction:

Mal and Chad: The Biggest, Bestest Time Ever by Stephen McCranie – I liked this graphic novel much more than I expected. Mal is a kid who goes out of his way to hide how brilliant while he is at school. He’s a mad scientist/inventor who brings his dog Chad into his projects. The two end up on a trip back to the age of dinosaurs as Mal tries to figure out what he wants to be when he grows up for a class essay. The quirky characters and unexpected inventions made me laugh.

The Popularity Papers by Amy Ignatow – I love the notebook format of this book. Two friends, Lydia and Julie, start a project in the notebook to learn how to be popular so they know how to start middle school the next year without turning into Lydia’s sister Melody. At the start, it’s decided that Lydia is to undertake their ‘experiments’ and Julie will illustrate and annotate them. Changing friendships, family issues, crushes, girl drama, betrayal and identity all play a role in this middle grade book (and inadvertent Norwegian misadventures). One interesting aspect of this book is the discussion of Julie’s family with two dads from her point of view, Lydia’s point of view and then from an outside girl. I would definitely be Team Julie in this book.

Neversink by Barry Wolverton- My 6th grade self would have read this one over and over until the covers fell off. One the island of Neversink the auks have a firm way of life – to not make waves. Well, as Lockley the puff learns, sometimes you have to make waves! The calm way of life on Neversink is threatened when Rozbell the pygmy owl makes his bid for power. Rozbell is determined to violate a negotiated peace to bring Neversink firmly into what he sees as its proper role — serving owls. Rozbell has powerful, merciless birds at his command? How can Lockley keep his mate Lucy safe? What role can a verbose scholarly walrus and a tiny hummingbird play? Read to find out. The characters made this one a quick read.

Reviews:

Capture the Flag by Kate Messner

The Hero’s Guide to Saving the Kingdom by Christopher Healy

This Week’s Reading Adventures

I’m packing this week for my family’s history-cation. However, I’m still hoping to finish up The Prince Who Fell From the Sky that I started reading on Netgalley last week. I love this story of a bear raising a Skinless One child (read: human who fell from space in a capsule) so far.

I’m also looking forward to reading Three Times Lucky.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading from Picture Books to YA

  1. I want to read Neversink. Would fourth or fifth graders be able to read it? Like will I want to get it for school or just read it for me?

  2. I want to read Neversink also. And Hero’s Guide is one of my recent favorite reads. So witty!

  3. Great list! My kids love Mal & Chad- I just bought the 2nd one for them.
    I, too, love the format of Popularity Papers- I think that kids will connect with it.
    And I completely understand about Neversink- elementary school me would have read it over and over too.

    Happy reading this week! :)

  4. I’m definitely going to pass along the recommendation for the Popularity Papers . . . sounds right up my 10yo’s alley. And hooray for Neversink and Hero’s Guide. Love those WPP books!

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,940 other followers

