It’s Monday! What Are You Reading from Picture Books to YA?

Jen and Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts started a weekly meme about what people are reading and reviewing in children’s and young adult literature. It’s a great way to see what others are reading.

Last Week’s Reading Adventures:Catch Up Edition

I spent a fair amount of time last week curled up reading CJ Cherryh and Jim Butcher novels. Jim Butcher writes The Dresden Files for adults, but he has a more traditional fantasy series named Codex Alera as well. This post is late because I was reading Codex Alera last night/early this morning.

Fiction:

Big Nate in a Class by Himself by Lincoln Peirce – I read this book for a summer reading club I’m helping with on Edmodo. The cartoons are fun in this book. Nate gets himself into lots of trouble on a day a fortune cookie tells him ‘you will surpass all others’. I can see why the kids like it, but I prefer Origami Yoda.

Abe Lincoln at Last! by Mary Pope Osborne – This is also for the Edmodo summer reading book. I picked this one up because I love Civil War era history. In retrospect, that was a mistake because I was too bothered by the history not being right as well as Jack and Annie not figuring things out. This still could be a fun time travel story for kids.

Legends of Zita the Spacegirl – This was an entertaining sequel graphic novel. Zita must get herself back to Piper and his ship after a robot takes her place. Interesting new characters are introduced and more of Piper’s past is hinted at. This book is a cliffhanger so I’m hoping there will be news of a third one. I read this title on Netgalley.

Picture Book:

Little Pig Joins the Band by David Hyde Costello – This was the first book I read on Reading Rainbow’s new app. It’s a fun little story about a pig trying to find a role in the family band. Levar Burton is a wonderful narrator.

Return to Nerdy Challenges:

I’m taking baby steps back into these challenges after months off.

Yonie Wondernose by Marguerite de Angeli – Yonie is itching to show he can handle the farm like a grownup while his father is away for the day. He tries to curb his great curiosity streak (I like the name Wondernose for someone who is curious) and has to help when a fire breaks out.

Story of Mankind by Hendrick Willem van Loon – Hooray for finishing! I did like some of the anecdotes in this and some of the authorial asides. I’m glad to be done though.

This Week’s Reading Adventures

I hope to get some reviews done now that I’m done with some conferences I was at for my district. Readingwise, I hope to tackle the second Newbery winner and some more fiction. That’s provided I avoid diving back into the Jim Butcher novels.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading from Picture Books to YA?

  1. The business manager at our school loves the Jim Butcher novels, & I’ve read one. I liked it, but just run out of time with all the rest I need to read. Fun to see that someone else likes them. Thanks for sharing all the books.

    • Thank you for stopping by. Butcher’s books are a lot of fun. I need to read more of them, but I get distracted by lots of other great books too.

  2. Oh, go ahead and do it. Dresden Files? (I admit I am not familiar with his other stuff. :/)
    You are brave tackling the Nerdbery. Power to the ones doing it even by baby steps … I wasn’t going to!
    I need to actually read a Big Nate. Got the app thinking we could do something fun with it but not knowing the characters is sort of a hindrance. They were never around during the school year … always checked out!

  3. I need to read more of the Dresden files but I need to find a good chunk of time to do that. Once I start them up again, I know I’ll end up rereading the other books too. Many of his characters can make me laugh.

  4. I think Big Nate is fun and enjoy his books more than the Wimpy Kid series. I am super excited for Legends of Zita!!!! I tried Story of Mankind…I checked it out…I skimmed the first 100 pages…but I just couldn’t do it. I may jump in when Colby and John get to some more current titles!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,940 other followers

